2020 Laser Europa Cup POR day 2

2020 Laser Europa Cup POR – Day 2 results

4938 0

After the first day without competition due to lack of wind, today all 188 sailors could complete their first race at least, with 2 races for the Laser Standard.

2020 Laser Europa Cup POR – Day 2 results

The day started with fog and light wind in Portimão. Only in the afternoon the Race Committee could manage to start the first races, unfortunately canceling the last ones when the wind dropped down again.

Dutch sailor Annemijn Algra NED won the first Laser 4.7 race and leads the Overall and Women’s championship, followed by Men’s first Ricardo Rosa POR on second place overall. Third place overall and Women’s second for Sofia Paradisi ITA. Reigning 2019 Laser Europa Cup 4.7 champion Bendeguz Nagy HUN is ranked fourth. 72 sailors participate of this fleet.

The Laser Radial fleet is governed by the Belarusian Olympic sailor Tatiana Drozdovskaya BLR on first, followed by the reigning 2019 Laser Radial Women’s World champion Anne-Marie Rindom DEN on second. Third place overall for British Molly Sacker GBR, leading the U21 fleet. Marissa Ijben NED is fourth overall and first U19 sailor. Also Dutch sailor Bas Kooijman Beuk NED is first among Radial Men’s fleet and ranked 7th overall. 88 sailors are being part of this fleet.

Local sailors are dominating the Laser Standard competition, with Tomas Pires de Lima POR (1-2) on first overall and U21 spots with 3 points, escorted by Eduardo Marques POR (6-1) and Martim Fernandes POR (4-4) with 7 and 8 points respectively. 28 sailors compete on this fleet.

Last races coming tomorrow, hopefully with better wind.

By Agustín Argüelles – EurILCA | Photos: Clube Naval de Portimao.

Share it!